85 CPS Teachers Receive National Board Certification in 2014 

CPS Employs More Than 2,200 Certified Teachers, the Most of Any Urban District Nationwide

Chicago Public Schools (CPS) CEO Barbara Byrd-Bennett today announced that 85 CPS teachers have been awarded the esteemed National Board Certification (NBC) in 2014. With more than 2,200 Board Certified Teachers, CPS employs more educators with this distinguished credential than any urban school system in the country, according to NBC.

“I am proud Chicago Public Schools boasts more than 2,200 National Board Certified Teachers – more than any other urban school district in the nation,” said Mayor Rahm Emanuel. “Congratulations to our 85 new teachers on this incredible achievement and those who continue to hold the profession’s gold standard. You have helped to raise the standard of excellence for our students as they set records in graduation rates, freshman on-track, attendance, and ACT scores. This accomplishment recognizes the dedication and passion you bring to your work each and every day, ensuring our students receive a world-class education.”

"I congratulate and commend our teachers for achieving the highest possible professional endorsement, which requires a profound commitment to meeting the most rigorous professional standards," said CEO Byrd-Bennett. “I believe firmly that by attaining these high standards, teachers are creating a brighter future for our students."

Board-certified teachers, known as NBCTs, lead both in and outside of the classroom. According to a survey by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, 43 percent of NBCTs across the country have led efforts to implement the Common Core State Standards in their schools, districts and states, while the same percentage have been involved in leading the implementation of teacher evaluation systems through peer review or observation. Furthermore, at least three out of four NBCTs have led professional development efforts in their schools.

Teachers embarking upon this rigorous certification process invest a minimum of one year into a series of tests that require them to demonstrate expertise in various areas of instruction. They are required to put their methods under a microscope, engaging in hours of self-analysis and demonstrating a clear understanding of student needs. In total, teachers dedicate between 300-400 hours to the process, in addition to their regular classroom responsibilities.

For more than a decade, CPS has supported NBC by providing resources to teachers going through the process. Last year, the District began a formal partnership with the Chicago Teachers Union to support their certification preparation program, which helps candidates to succeed in the program and advance their abilities in the classroom. 

“This partnership is playing an instrumental role in helping our teachers achieve this national recognition,” Byrd-Bennett said. “This preparation does more than help our teachers develop, it helps our students, classrooms and schools improve.” 

Representing schools across all networks, with 30 percent schools of schools indicating Title 1 status, it is clear that NBC is represented at schools in several communities across the District. The following schools are home to 2014 awardees:

  • Agassiz Elementary School
  • Alcott High School
  • Amundsen High School
  • George Armstrong Elementary
  • John J. Audubon Elementary School
  • Hiram H. Belding Elementary School
  • James G. Blaine Elementary School
  • Milton Brunson Math and Science School
  • Cesar E. Chavez Multicultural Elementary School
  • Salmon P. Chase Elementary School
  • Community Links High School
  • George W. Curtis Elementary School
  • Robert Nathaniel Dett Elementary School
  • Dewitt Clinton Elementary School
  • John C. Dore Elementary School
  • Dunbar Vocational Career Academy High School
  • John F. Eberhart Elementary School
  • Edgebrook Elementary School
  • Laughlin Falconer Elementary School
  • Federico Garcia Lorca Elementary School
  • Frazier International Magnet Elementary School
  • Horace Greeley Elementary School
  • William C. Goudy Technology Academy
  • Alexander Hamilton Elementary School
  • Harlan Community Academy High School
  • Thomas A Hendricks Elementary Community Academy
  • Infinity Math Science and Technology High School
  • Andrew Jackson Language Academy
  • Jahn World Language School
  • William Jones College Preparatory High School
  • Josefa Ortiz De Dominguez Elementary School
  • Josiah Pickard Elementary School
  • Kenwood Academy High School
  • King College Prep High School
  • Lane Tech College Prep High School
  • LaSalle Elementary Language Academy
  • Mildred I. Lavizzo Elementary School
  • Marine Math & Science Academy
  • Benjamin Mays Academy
  • Morgan Park High School
  • Ninos Heroes Elementary Academic Center
  • North Lawndale College Prep High School
  • Northside Learning Center High School
  • Ogden International Elementary School
  • Ogden International High School
  • Peirce International Studies Elementary School
  • Perspectives Charter School
  • Phoenix Military Academy
  • Jorge Prieto Math and Science Academy
  • William C. Reavis Elementary School
  • Carroll-Rosenwald Specialty Elementary School
  • Irma C. Ruiz Elementary School
  • Socorro Sandoval Elementary School
  • Harriet E. Sayre Elementary Language Academy
  • Jonathan Y. Scammon Elementary School
  • Sherman School of Excellence
  • Simeon Career Academy
  • Solorio Academy High School
  • South Shore Fine Arts Academy
  • STEM Magnet Academy
  • Enrico Tonti Elementary School
  • Mark Twain Elementary School
  • University of Chicago Charter - Woodlawn
  • Vaughn Occupational High School
  • Walter Payton College Prep High School
  • West Ridge Elementary School
  • Westinghouse College Prep High School
  • Whitney M. Young Magnet High School
  • World Language High School

Chicago Public Schools serves 396,000 students in 664 schools. It is the nation’s third-largest school district.