Tickets available for the Kathy Osterman Awards Breakfast 

Event to be on Tuesday, October 19, 2010


October 18, 2010


Each year, the Kathy Osterman Awards honor city employees for their superior public service. The awards are designed to showcase the outstanding contributions of city employees and individuals employed at its sister agencies. They also help to inspire others into selecting careers in public service.

Individuals are nominated by their supervisors. Those nominations are reviewed by a panel of experts from the City of Chicago and its sister agencies. Finalists and winners are then selected by the panel.

In 1993, the Superior Public Service Awards were renamed in memory of the late Kathy Osterman, who served as alderman and later as Executive Director of the Mayor’s Office of Special Events. This year marks the 42nd year of the awards program.


2010 Award Ceremony Update

The ceremony is scheduled to be held on October 19, 2010 at 7:30 am in the Continental Ballroom of the Hilton Chicago Hotel, 720 S. Michigan Avenue. Tickets will be $30.00 each and will be on sale in September.

For more ticket information, please contact Karen Sarazen at 312-744-4970 or at


More information about the event and tickets can be found here.


2010 Kathy Osterman Awards Recipients

Outstanding Executive Employee                      
Winner:        Michael P. Kelly                                  
                       Chicago Park District            
Finalists:     Bernadette H. Nowakowski              
                       Chicago Public Library                                        
                      Dennis J.  Mondero
                       Chicago Transit Authority

Outstanding Professional Employee

Winner:        Lawana M. Fenderson
                       Chicago Public Schools
Finalists:     Krista Bryski-Richard
                       Chicago Park District
                      Brandon W. Pendleton
                       City Colleges of Chicago (Harold Washington)

Outstanding Supervisory Employee
Winner:        Kelley Brookins
                       Chicago Transit Authority
Finalists:     Daniel D. Hall
                       Chicago Transit Authority
                      Leticia Y. McCollum
                       Chicago Housing Authority

Outstanding General Service Employee
Winner:        Thomas R. Mitchell
                       Chicago Housing Authority
Finalists:     Maria-Teresa Roman
                       Chicago Transit Authority
                      Maureen Perez
                       Chicago Park District


Outstanding Clerical Employee
Winner:        Danita M.  Brown
                       Independent Police Review Authority
Finalists:     Carolyn King
                       Chicago Housing Authority
                      Sherrea O. Washington
                       City Colleges of Chicago (Malcolm X)

Outstanding Educational Employee
Winner:        Dr. Anghesom Atsbaha
                       City Colleges of Chicago (Truman College)
Finalists:     Charita Bingham-Pruitt
                       Chicago Public Schools
                      Professor Joanette M. Copeland
                       City Colleges of Chicago (Malcolm X)

Outstanding Public Safety Employee
Winners:    Leslee Stein-Spencer
                     Chicago Fire Department
                    Stacey L. Hill
                     Chicago Police Department
Finalists:   Juan Hernandez
                     Chicago Fire Department
                    Dominick A. Ciccola
                     Chicago Police Department

Excellence in Leadership (winner to be announced at the breakfast)

Finalists:    Duane D. Hayden
                      Department of Aviation
                     Dr. Julie Y. Morita
                      Department of Health
                     John D. Gerut
                      Chicago Housing Authority


About CPS

Chicago Public Schools serves 417,855 students in 675 schools. It is the nation’s third-largest school district.


Press contacts