CPS Announces Supplemental LSC Elections to Fill Vacant Seats 

Decision Will Ensure Fuller, Dedicated Councils in Place for New Two-Year Term


April 20, 2012


Chicago Public Schools (CPS) today announced that it will hold supplemental Local School Council (LSC) elections to fill LSC seats that remain vacant following this week’s District wide elections.  The decision is a first for the District and is designed to ensure each Local School Council has fuller council participation when the new two-year term begins on July 1, 2012.


Each Local School Council is made up of 12 members with an additional student member at the high school level. As of Friday afternoon, 31 LSCs still needed additional seats filled in order to make a quorum.


“We worked very hard this year on candidate recruitment, and I thank the thousands of engaged LSC candidates that participated in this week’s elections. But we need fuller school councils so that members can roll up their sleeves and get to work in July. That is why this supplement election is critical,” said CPS CEO Jean-Claude Brizard. “I urge engaged parents and community members to take advantage of this opportunity by coming forward, getting involved and making a difference.” 


Interested candidates need to submit nominating forms at the school of the LSC they are running for during the filing period, which runs April 25th to May 9th.  Schools will hold candidate forums on May 14th and 16thand hold elections on May 18th. The nominating forms, along with additional information, can be found on the Local School Councils election page, and at schools holding supplemental elections.


LSCs play a significant role in decision-making at the local school level and empower parents and school communities to work collaboratively with their principals in creating a positive school environment that best serves the needs of all children. LSC representatives serve a two-year term beginning July 1, 2012, and ending June 30, 2014.


Parents are eligible for seats on the LSC of the school their children attend, as are members of each school’s community, and the teachers and non-teaching staff from the school. LSC members cannot be employees of Chicago Public Schools nor can relatives of the principal be eligible to serve on the LSC of that principal’s school. Each LSC is made up of six parents, two community members, two teachers, one non-teacher staff member and the school’s principal. High school LSCs also have a student representative.

The primary responsibilities of LSCs include approving how local school funds and resources are allocated, approving and monitoring the implementation of the annual School Improvement Plans for Advancing Academic Enhancement (SIPAAA) plan, and hiring and evaluating the school's contract principal.

CPS will hold supplemental elections at the following schools:


  • Bright Elementary School (10740 S. Calhoun Ave.)
  • Burke Elementary School (5356 S. King Dr.)
  • Chicago Military Academy (3519 S. Giles Ave.)
  • Clark High School (5101 W. Harrison St.)
  • Collins High School (1313 S. Sacramento Dr.)
  • Curtis Elementary School (32 E. 115th St.)
  • Davis Magnet Elementary School (6730 S. Paulina St.)
  • Deneen Elementary School (7240 S. Wabash Ave.)
  • Drake Elementary School (2722 S. King Dr.)
  • DuBois Elementary School (330 E. 133rd St.)
  • Dumas Technical Academy (6650 S. Ellis Ave.)
  • Dyett High School (555 E. 51st St.)
  • Fuller Elementary School (4214 S. Saint Lawrence Ave.)
  • Goldblatt Elementary School (4257 W. Adams St.)
  • Guggenheim Elementary School (7141 S. Morgan St.)
  • Hoyne Elementary School (8905 S. Crandon Ave.)
  • Lathrop Elementary School (1440 S. Christiana Ave.)
  • Marine Military High School (145 S. Campbell Ave.)
  • Marquette Elementary School (6550 S. Richmond St.)
  • Parskside Elementary School (6938 S. East End Ave.)
  • Phillips High School (244 E. Pershing Rd.)
  • Piccolo Elementary School (1040 N. Keeler Ave.)
  • Raby High School (3545 W. Fulton Blvd.)
  • Reed Elementary School (6350 S. Stewart Ave.)
  • Robeson High School (6835 S. Normal Blvd.)
  • Ross Elementary School (6059 S. Wabash Ave.)
  • School of Leadership High School (7627 S. Constance Ave.)
  • Sherman Elementary School (1000 W. 52nd St.)
  • Tilden High School (4747 S. Union Ave.)
  • Till Elementary School (6543 S. Champlain Ave.)
  • Woodlawn Elementary School (6657 S. Kimbark Ave.)


More information is available by calling the Office of LSC Relations, (773) 553-1400 and visiting www.cps.edu.

About CPS

Chicago Public Schools serves 405,000 students in 675 schools. It is the nation’s third-largest school district.


Press contacts