H1N1 vaccinations 

Certain children with underlying conditions might be at increased risk for serious complications from the H1N1 virus infection. Parents or guardians should speak to a healthcare professional about the vaccine to prevent the H1N1 flu. These conditions in children include:

 

  • Children younger than 5-years-old
  • Children with long-term health problems
  • Children with a weakened immune system due to a medical condition
  • Children 6 months though 18 years of age on long-term aspirin treatment
  • Children with certain muscle or nerve disorders

 

Beginning Oct. 24, 2009, the Chicago Department of Public Health will offer free H1N1 vaccinations to individuals unable to access vaccination services through a primary healthcare provider.

 

View the parent letters from Dr. Terry Mason, Commissioner of the Chicago Department of Public Health in  English or  Spanish.

Clinic locations

Immunization clinics are taking place at the following locations: Kennedy King College, 6301 S. Halsted St.; Olive Harvey College, 1001 S. Woodlawn; Richard J. Daley College, 7500 S. Pulaski Rd.; Truman College, 1145 W. Wilson Ave., West Side Technical Institute, 2800 S. Western Ave.; Wright College, 4300 N. Narragansett Ave.

Clinic dates, times 

October immunization clinics

9 a.m. – 2 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 24

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 27

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 29

9 a.m. – 2 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 31

 

November immunization clinics

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Tuesday, Nov. 3

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 5

9 a.m. – 2 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 7

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Tuesday, Nov. 10

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 12

9 a.m. – 2 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 14

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Tuesday, Nov. 17

3 p.m. – 8 p.m., Tuesday, Nov. 19

H1N1 hotline, resources

The State of Illinois has a flu hotline set up for non-medical questions. Call 1-866-848-2094 for English or 1-866-241-2138 for Spanish. For more information call 3-1-1, visit the CDPH’s H1N1 website or read H1N1 updates, health tips.

Feedback

Was this information helpful? Give us your feedback.

 

To view some of the documents provided on this page, you need Acrobat Reader. If you do not have this program, click download Adobe Acrobat Reader now and follow the instructions.